Conservation Commission

Related Department: Conservation Department

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval by the Commission. Meetings are held on Monday evenings at 7:00 PM. Please see the Meeting Schedule for specific meeting dates, times, locations, and filing deadlines.

View Meeting Agendas and Minutes | View Minutes 2011 and Older


The Hingham Conservation Commission is a seven-member board appointed to three-year overlapping terms by the Select Board. The Commission works closely with the Conservation Department staff to oversee the protection of wetlands, waterbodies, waterways, floodplains, buffer zones, and riverfront areas, and to acquire and maintain conservation property for the protection of natural resources and enjoyment of the residents of Hingham.

The Commission also takes an active role in advising other Town boards and committees on conservation matters. The Commission has a representative on the Climate Action Planning Committee, Community Preservation Committee, Comprehensive Trails Plan Committee, Master Plan Committee, Open Space Acquisition Committee, and Turkey Hill Management Committee.


Empowered to administer the state’s Wetlands Protection Act (M.G.L. Chapter 131, Section 40) and Rivers Protection Act (St. 1996, c. 258), and the Hingham Wetlands Protection By-Law, the Commission reviews applications for projects within floodplains, within 100 feet of wetlands, waterbodies, and intermittent streams, and within 200 feet of perennial streams and rivers. The Commission and its staff hold public meetings, issue permits for work, inspect the work in progress, and upon completion of the work, conduct final inspections and in some cases, issue Certificates of Compliance. The Commission may also issue Enforcement Orders if unpermitted activities are identified and unable to be resolved through more amicable means.

Under the Conservation Commission Act (M.G.L. Chapter 40, Section 8C), the Commission works with its staff and the Open Space Acquisition Committee to plan for natural resource protection, acquire important parcels as funding allows, and manage its properties for conservation and passive recreation purposes, often with the help of caretakers and volunteers. In addition, the Commission and its staff assist with writing, revising, and implementing important planning documents related to the Town’s open space. Additional information and associated planning documents can be found on the Commission’s Conservation Properties page.


Name Position
Term Expires
Crystal Kelly
Carolyn Nielsen Vice Chair 2024
Laurie Freeman Member 2025
Henry Hidell Member 2023
Robert Mosher Member 2023
Thomas Roby Member 2023
Nina Villanova Member 2024